Author Topic: Recovery from distal bicep surgery  (Read 6774 times)

Offline ianhibbert83

• Newbie Plus
Recovery from distal bicep surgery
« on: December 20, 2011, 10:32:44 AM »
First of all can I just say how helpful and informative I have found this site and how grateful I am to all the guys who have posted to let us newbies know there is light at the end of the tunnel!
I am a 28yr old firefighter from Liverpool UK and i live a very active life. I do a lot of weight training, circuit training and HIIT cardio training I have also been practising Krav Maga for the last 5 yrs. On the 19/11/11 I was participating in a charity boxing match for help for heroes a UK based charity set up to support wounded soldiers returning from duty. In true rocky fashion in the dying seconds of the final round i had my opponent on the ropes I landed 2 right hooks to his head and what followed was a strange cramping sensation in my right arm. I tried to shake it off dismissing it as cramp when i was man handled into the corner by the ref urging me to look at my arm! Sure enough i looked down to see my right bicep balled up under my armpit like a tennis ball.DOH!!!

Once diagnosed surgery was promptly scheduled for 23/11/11, 4 days post injury. I had the titanium anchor and suture procedure and have a 2" incision across the crease of my arm. Post surgery Pain was pretty intense once the nerve block wore off and persisted for 2 or 3 days after surgery, luckily the weapons grade pain killers did their job well! After hearing all the horror stories of nerve damage/numbness etc the first thing i did on coming round was move my fingers and rotate my wrist and was relieved to find everything in working order. The arm was set at 90 degrees in a solid cast with sling and remained that way for 2 wks.